Transform your Life in 21 Days with Meditation

In this new post on Ecomii, I talk about my experience with a 21-Day Meditation Challenge, during which I meditated for at least 10 minutes every day for 21 days.   Within a week, I felt more grounded.  By the end of week 2, I was looking forward to those 10-20 minutes of equanimity and centering.  And by the end of the third week, I wondered what took my so long to establish a more regular meditation practice.  Meditating helps us handle life stresses better.  It has been proven to lower blood pressure, reduce anxiety, and create a feeling of connectedness and purpose in life.  In our hectic world, it is so worthwhile to take the time to pause, breathe, and be present in the moment that is.  When you read this, I hope it inspires you to start on your own 21-day meditation challenge.  Meditation is a great add-on to a nutritional detox program.  As you detox your body, you should detox your mind from all negative thoughts.  Good luck, and happy meditating!

For a kick-start on your 21-day meditation challenge, see the Chopra Center Meditation Challenge for daily inspired meditations.

This entry was posted in Meditation, Meditations, Stress Management, Sustainable Health, Your Toxic Body. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Transform your Life in 21 Days with Meditation

  1. Carrie says:

    Dr. Pedre, thanks for the inspiration! I’m doing the challenge. Hope all’s well with you!

  2. I keep telling myself that I need to meditate but I never do, maybe what I need to do is set a small goal like 10 minutes a day for a week. I think I can do that, I think I have to, this sounds amazing!

    • pedremd says:

      Sometimes we set our expectations so high, that we can never reach them. Start small, start easy, and you will see you can get there. Like I said, everyone can carve out 10 minutes from their day. If I can do it with my busy practice, my writing on Ecomii’s Food and Health Blog, speaking engagements, endless projects and a 6 y/o at home (who needs a lot of attention and always has homework and reading to do), anyone can!!

  3. BenO says:

    Thank you Dr. Pedre,

    It took me a long time to come around to following this advice. But now that I have, I can agree with your general description of its impact on daily life.

    I found it easier to get started with a free MP3 download from the Chopra Center site. Then I found ~24 free Chopra Center meditation podcasts on Itunes. (One can find them most directly with the search phrase “Chopra Center for Wellbeing.”) After working through those for a while, I finally felt ready to take on the Summer 2011 21-day Meditation Challenge, which was also available from Itunes.

    I pass on this info for others who might also find it an easier way to get started.

Leave a Reply

